Because no one loved December like I did

No one loved December like I did, I’d notice her every shade; change in Autumn’s wonder.

No one did quite love her,

Because she was rude and asked for embraces.

No one loved December like I did, white suited her well but her snow was traded for summer.

No one did quite love her,

Because she was unpredictable, weather was a joke to her.

No one loved December like I did, she played cupid on Christmas but the romance ended there.

No one did quite lover her,

Because she stole; sweaters, warmth and the sun.

No one loved December like I did, she helped build resolutions that weren’t easy.

No one did quite love her,

Because she was close to the new year, and everything was older.

No one loved December like I did, she made best friends visit beaches; only for a day.

No one did quite love her,

Because she was always last and late, and she enjoyed the wait.

No one loved December like I did, beds awaited their partners and comforters sang lullabies with her.

No one did quite love her,

Because come the next morning, the two were inseparable.

No one loved December like I did, she’d let the hair grow out from under the depths of human skin.

No one did quite love her,

Because she was unapologetic in her ways.

No one loved December like I did, she gave birth to me; along with a box full of disappointments.

No one did quite love her,

They loved me neither.

After all, December’s child was bound to grow up like her.

Leave a Reply

